What is Salah?

Salah (صَلاة) is the Arabic term for the ritual prayer that is obligatory for Muslims to perform five times a day. It forms one of the five pillars of Islam.

How many prayers are there?

The five prayers are:

  • Fajr (صلاة الفجر), which takes place at pre-dawn
  • Dhuhr (صَلَاة ٱلظُّهْر), which takes place just after the sun reaches its zenith
  • Asr (صلاة العصر), which takes place between noon and sunset
  • Maghrib (صلاة المغرب), which takes place just after sunset
  • Isha (صلاة العشاء), which takes place during the night/at night-time

Maintain with care the (obligatory) prayers and (in particular) the middle prayer and stand before Allah, devoutly obedient

What are Sunnah and Nafl Prayers?

The Sunnah Salah (prayers) are ones in which the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) used to habitually offer as voluntary worship at specified times and places.

Nafl Salah are voluntary prayers that a Muslim may offer at any time as a form of extra Ibadah (worship).

Why is Salah important?

Salah is an integral part of the lifestyle of a Muslim and an obligatory act of worship. Through prayer, Muslims are required each day to ponder on the verses of the Qur’an, the Shahadah (the declaration of faith), and Allah’s attributes.

Muslims across the world unite in prayer at five specified times each day in the direction of the Kaaba in Mecca, as a means of connecting to Allah and their purpose in life – to remember and worship Him.

How do I pray Salah?

Salah is a ritual prayer that requires certain etiquettes in order to perform it correctly. However, there are some slight differences in what etiquettes are required depending on the Madhhab (school of thought) you follow within the Fiqh of Islam (Islamic jurisprudence). Thus, you should consult your local scholars and imams about how to perform your prayers.

How do I know when to pray?

You can find the latest timings for the current day’s prayers on our homepage.